Monday, January 27, 2014


Claudia Carlson will be part of the 6th Annual Massachusetts Poetry Festival with the panel "Small Presses, Big Poets: An Inside Look at Five Exciting New Books." The Festival will take place in Salem, MA, on May 2-4, 2014.  Here's panel information:

Small Presses, Big Poets: An Inside Look at Five Exciting New Books
While mass-market publishing has consolidated into a handful of global powerhouses, the most compelling new poetry is published by very small presses. Such books are the labors of love of dedicated editors who go above and beyond to help these exciting poetic voices reach new audiences. Join us as five stylistically diverse poets share poems from their recent books and discuss their experiences working with innovative, dynamic small press publishers based in the Northeast, Midwest and UK. From stunning metaphors and striking images to practical advice about how to get your own book published, you’re sure to be moved and motivated. Featured poets, books and presses include: Claudia Carlson, Pocket Park (Marsh Hawk Press); Susana Case, 4 Rms w Vu (Mayapple Press); Peter Covino, The Right Place to Jump (New Issues Poetry & Prose), Jay Leeming, Miracle Atlas (Big Pencil Press); and Matthew Thorburn, This Time Tomorrow (Waywiser Press).

Poets’ bios:
Claudia Carlson’s Pocket Park (Marsh Hawk Press, 2013) is a collection of poetry and photos. Her other publications include The Elephant House (Marsh Hawk Press, 2007) and The Poet’s Grimm, an anthology of fairy tale poems she co-edited with Jeanne Marie Beaumont (Story Line Press, 2003). She has been included in the anthologies Love Rise Up(Benu Press, 2012) and The Breath of Parted Lips II (CavanKerry Press, 2004). Claudia creates maps, illustrations, portraits, and book designs for small presses. She lives in Manhattan.
Susana H. Case is a Professor and Program Coordinator at the New York Institute of Technology. Author of several chapbooks, her Slapering Hol Press chapbook, The Scottish Café, was published in a dual-language version, Kawiarnia Szkocka, by Poland’s Opole University Press. She authored the books, Salem In Séance (WordTech Editions), Elvis Presley’s Hips & Mick Jagger’s Lips (Anaphora Literary Press), and Earth and Below (Anaphora Literary Press). 4 Rms w Vu is forthcoming from Mayapple Press in 2014.
Peter Covino is the author of the poetry collections The Right Place to Jump (2012) and Cut Off the Ears of Winter(2005), both from New Issues Poetry & Prose. His prizes include the 2007 PEN American/Osterweil Award for emerging poets and the Frank O’Hara Poetry Prize for his chapbook, Straight Boyfriend (2001). His co-edited volume,Essays on Italian American Literature and Culture, recently appeared from Bordighera Press, CUNY (2012). Peter is an Associate Professor of English and Creative Writing at the University of Rhode Island.
Jay Leeming is the author of two books of poems, Miracle Atlas (Big Pencil Press, 2011) and Dynamite on a China Plate(Backwaters Press, 2006). He has been a featured reader at Butler University, the Omega Institute, Robert Bly's Great Mother Conference and the Woodstock Poetry Festival. He is the editor and founder of the magazine Rowboat: Poetry in Translation, and has taught poetry workshops throughout the United States and abroad. Jay served as Poet Laureate of Tompkins County in 2009-2010 and makes his home in Ithaca, New York.
Matthew Thorburn is the author of three books of poems, This Time Tomorrow (Waywiser, 2013), Every Possible Blue(CW Books, 2012) and Subject to Change (New Issues, 2004), and a chapbook, Disappears in the Rain (Parlor City Press, 2009). He is the recipient of a Witter Bynner Fellowship from the Library of Congress, as well as fellowships from the Bronx Council on the Arts and the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. He lives in New York City, where he works as a marketing communications manager for an international law firm.


Marsh Hawk Press is delighted to announce that Jason McCall's Dear Hero is off to a wonderful start: 

Dear Hero made SPD's December best-seller list(http://www.spdbooks.org/pages/bestsellers/poetry/default.aspx), and the book was chosen as a Staff Pick for 2014 (http://www.spdbooks.org/pages/staff-picks/default.aspx)
Dear Hero also won the Whirling Prize from the University of Indianapolis (http://www.uindy.edu/cas/english/etchings-prize), and Jason will be giving a reading and talk for the university in March.

Congratulations, Jason!

Friday, January 03, 2014


Announcing Two New Prizes:
The Marsh Hawk Press Robert Creeley Memorial Award
Named for the late Poet and Member of the Marsh Hawk Press Advisory Board
The Rochelle Ratner Memorial Award
Named for the late Poet and Marsh Hawk Press Editor
Submission Deadline: April 30, 2014
Brenda Hillman

The Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize offers a cash award of $1,000.00 plus publication of the winning book. The Marsh Hawk Press Robert Creeley Memorial Award and the Rochelle Ratner Memorial Award offer cash prizes of $250 each and will be chosen from finalist manuscripts submitted to the contest. Prizes are judged by a poet of national stature. The winners' names and title of the winning book are announced and advertised nationally.

Contest Rules for Regular Mail Submissions:
• Submit a manuscript of 48-84 pages of original poetry in any style in English. The manuscript must not have been published previously in book form, although individual poems appearing in print or on the web are permitted. Entries may consist of individual poems, or a book-length poem—or any combination of long or short poems. Collaborations welcome. (Please note: Manuscripts longer than 84 pages may be considered, but please contact us before submitting.)
•Because the contest is judged blindly, submitted manuscript must contain 2 title pages: Your name and contact information must appear on first title page only. Your name must not appear anywhere else in the manuscript.
• Manuscript should be typed, single-spaced, paginated, and bound with a spring clip.
• Include a table of contents page and an acknowledgements page for magazine or anthology publications.
• Enclose an SASE for announcement of the winner. (If you want to save postage, just check our web site.)
• Manuscripts cannot be returned.
• Postmark deadline: April 30, 2014.
• Enclose a check or money order for $25 entry fee, payable to MARSH HAWK PRESS.
 Check or money order must be in U.S. funds.
Marsh Hawk Press, P.O. Box 206, East Rockaway, N. Y. 11518-0206

YOU CAN ALSO SUBMIT ELECTRONICALLY!  For more info, go to http://marshhawkpress.org/Contests_and_submissions.htm

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?